

NORTHEAST DISTRICT ATHLETIC BOARD

For immediate release:

OHSAA Northeast District Athletic Board honors area Scholar Athletes

On Monday July 21, 2025 the Northeast District Athletic Board honored the recipients of the OHSAA scholar athlete award at Progressive Field prior to the Guardians Orioles game that evening. 55 student athletes from Northeast District schools were awarded certificates, medals and a \$1000 scholarship from the OHSAA and the NEDAB.

These scholar athletes were selected from a pool from all Northeast District schools. Each high school in the state can nominate up to 4 scholar athletes. These student athletes are then evaluated on both academic and athletic achievements throughout their high school career. The top athletes from each classification of the OHSAA based on school enrollment (A, AA, AAA) are then selected for this award and honor.

The Scholar Athletes were recognized at Progressive field with an awards presentation, pregame buffet, and then tickets to the game with their family and friends. The night was highlighted by a presentation by OHSAA Chief Financial Officer Laura Vermilya.

Also, during the presentation the NEDAB presented two members of the local media with their annual media appreciation awards for their service and promotion of high school athletics. This year's Media Service Award winners are:

Charlie Malta from WINT Radio Tom Nader from Portage Sports

Below is a list of award winners by classification and school. Also attached are photos from the event that you may use. Any further questions please contact NEDAB secretary Jeff Cassella at icassella@ohsaa.org or 440-477-4996.

Class A recipients:

AL LOPEZ SCHOLARSHIP Madisyn Fisher, Brookfield

Maddox Andrea, United Elizabeth Jackson, Columbiana Joe Fox, Wellington Nayeli Cruz, Waynedale Aaron Miedel, Central Christian Carson Clase, McDonald Kylie Flere, McDonald William Anderson, St. John Tristan Franks, Waynedale Kendra Berger, Norwayne Brooke Lehmkuhl, Wellington Emily Ridgeway, Kirtland Hadassah Rivera, Lowellville Grace Johns, Jackson Milton Drew Slone, Jackson Milton Alysa Troyan, Northwestern Beyla Sadler, Fairport Alesha Felix, Loudonville

Class AA recipients:

ED BATANIAN SCHOLARSHIP Maddie Crooks, Edgewood

LARRY ACKER SCHOLARSHIP Parker Metsker, Norwayne

Avery Horning, Alliance Kaleb Wayt, Orrville Gradyn Flynn, Kenston Charles Vatolin, Bay Andrew Naugle, Coventry Aiden Stecker, Salem Brooklyn Cavey, Cloverleaf Lena Piktel, Bay Lucas Ryan, Marlington Kendall Lower, Northwest Mia Gaffney, Canfield Drew Shapiro, Canfield Beatrice Ullom, Bay Jacsyn Hilliard, Marlington Andrew Whitfield, Girard Sadie Poudevigne, Kenston

Class AAA recipients:

Jane Rathbun, Rocky River Sean McNulty, Jackson Gianna Lenahan, Walsh Jesuit Chloe Dostal, Perry George Libecco, Solon Elizabeth Spalding, Austintown Fitch Layla Lemin, Ellet Chloe Smith, Austintown Fitch Prince Tran, Amherst Steele Ryan Bridenthal, Glenoak Logan Ash, Hoover Olivia Williams, Mayfield Ava Williams, Elyria Kaylee Lusk, Jackson Josie Howard, Solon Allyson Schultz, Revere Anthony Derubeis, Revere Sydney Harbour, Glenoak