OPSWA Member Updates

Hello Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association members and thank you for your coverage of high school sports. This memo summarizes reminders and announcements for OPSWA members.

OPSWA Photography Contest Winners

The OPSWA writing contest award winners were announced in May, but it was brought to our attention that the photography contest winners had not yet been announced after that portion of the contest was judged last summer.

2022 OPSWA Photography Contest Winners

- 1. Tom Puskar, Ashland Times-Gazette
- 2. Michael Cooper, Springfield News-Sun
- 3. Erin Caldwell, Sandusky Register

Football Postseason Awards Timeline

Once again this year, OPSWA members will vote to determine the Ohio Mr. Football Awad winner. Finalists will be announced Nov. 22 and voting will open at that time. OPSWA members are also encouraged to be a part of the All-District football process. District chairpersons are listed in the next note. The timeline for 2023 postseason football awards is:

Early November: All-district teams selected and announced per each district's timeline. All-Ohio nominations are also determined at the all-district meetings.

Nov. 22: Ohio Mr. Football nominees announced at noon; Voting period opens for Mr. Football

Nov. 27: Voting ends for Mr. Football at noon

Nov. 30: Mr. Football winner announced at 4 p.m. prior to first state championship game

Dec. 4-7: All-Ohio teams announced

OPSWA Members Encouraged to Join All-District Voting Process

Since 2017, the OPSWA has coordinated the All-District and All-Ohio teams in football and basketball. All OPSWA members are encouraged to be a part of the selection process for the all-district teams in football and basketball. The All-Ohio teams are based on the work and nominations of the district committees. Please contact your district chairperson to be a part of the process.

Northeast Lakes: Matt Goul, Cleveland.com Northeast Inland: Chris Beaven, Canton Repository Northwest: Mark Hazelwood, Norwalk Reflector Southeast: Paul Boggs, Portsmouth Daily Times

East: Sam Blackburn and Brandon Hannahs, Zanesville Times-Recorder

Central: Steve Blackledge, PressProsMagazine.com, retired from Columbus Dispatch

Southwest: Greg Shoemaker, TriStateFootball.com; Scott Halasz, Xenia Daily Gazette; Jeff Gilbert, Dayton Daily News

OPSWA Southwest District Rep and Former Officer John Cummings Passes Away

On October 4, John Cummings of Miami Valley Newspapers passed away in Miamisburg. John was a longtime OPSWA member, Southwest District chairman and former officer. After his passing, several donations were made to the OPSWA in his honor. John will be missed. More details will be shared at the OPSWA member meeting next spring.

OPSWA Membership List

Please check the OPSWA district membership lists. If you are aware of any edits, please notify Tim Stried at tstried@ohsaa.org. The membership lists are posted at: https://www.ohsaa.org/news/OPSWA/membership. The goal is that OPSWA members utilize the list to communicate with other members for such things as exchanging information on out-of-area opponents, facility details, etc.

OPSWA Officers

Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association members conducted officer voting in April 2022. Congratulations to the following four individuals who were elected to a two-year term from May 1, 2022 through April 30, 2024:

President: Eric Frantz, MaxPreps.com

Vice President: John Kampf, Willoughby News Herald Vice President: Tom Wilson, Lancaster Eagle-Gazette Vice President: Jake Furr, Mansfield News Journal

Please don't hesitate to reach out to the officers with any OPSWA suggestions or issues. OPSWA officers select the Hall of Fame (members nominate potential honorees), vote for All-Ohio teams (with the district chairmen, listed below), determine any changes to OPSWA procedures, etc. Thank you to all members who were on the officer ballot. They have all committed to remaining involved with OPSWA work.

Hall of Fame

The 2023 induction class of the OPSWA Hall of Fame was honored at the boys basketball state tournament last March 19. They included Steve Junga from the Toledo Blade. Bob Rossiter from the Canton Repository, and Karl Pearson (deceased) from the Ashtabula Star Beacon.

The complete OPSWA Hall of Fame list is posted at: https://www.ohsaa.org/news/OPSWA/HOF

OPSWA ID Badges Available

The OHSAA produces ID badges for OPSWA members that include the member's photo and their media outlet logo(s). Any OPSWA member that wants a new ID badge should email their headshot and media outlet logo, if desired to Tim Stried. There is no cost for the ID badge and a green OHSAA lanyard is included.

Tim Stried

Director of Media Relations

Ohio High School Athletic Association

614-267-2502, ext. 124

tstried@ohsaa.org

www.OHSAA.org

www.Twitter.com/OHSAASports

4080 Roselea Place

Columbus, OH 43214