
To: OHSAA Basketball Officials 
 
From: Denny Morris, Director of Officiating Development – Basketball 
 
Re: Plays of the Week – Week 2 
 
Date:  Wednesday, November 2, 2022 
 
 
Before you get to this week’s plays, please also review the 4 questions that I have received regarding the 
pregame. 
 

Should jackets be worn?   
Please review page 44 of the OHSAA official’s handbook: 
https://ohsaaweb.blob.core.windows.net/files/Officiating/OHSAAOfficialsHandbook.pdf 

 
Should the officials have a captain's meeting at half court?   
This is optional.  We got along for 2 years without them and nobody seemed to notice or 
care.  Also see answer to #4 below. 

 
Should the officials go over to meet the coaches and ask them if their team is properly equipped?  
As per NFHS rule 2-4-5.  I would also remind all officials: 

1) there is no penalty to the coach if he incorrectly answers in the affirmative, and  
2) their time would be well spent reviewing NFHS rule 3-5 as the expectation is that this 

rule is consistently enforced. 
 

Should the officials stay across from the table until tip-off?  
This is optional.  Please remember there is still a federal public health emergency in place due to 
the Covid pandemic and officials are still encouraged to use appropriate precautions to minimize 
potential exposure (including the option to still wear a mask). 

 
Plays of the Week - Week 2. These plays have to deal with the Jump Ball. 
 
JUMP-BALL ADMINISTRATION 
6.3.2: The referee is ready to toss the ball to start the game. (a) A1 who was on the center restraining 
circle backs off; (b) B1 moves onto the restraining circle into an unoccupied spot; (c) B2 moves off the 
circle and goes behind A2 and is within 3 feet of the circle; or (d) B3 moves off the circle about 5 feet and 
moves around behind A3 and A4 who are occupying spaces on the circle. 
                A. All situations are legal. 
                B. All situations are illegal and re-jump in each instance.  
C. Legal in only (a) and (d), but a violation in (b) and (c). The violation by Team B results in a throw-in for 
Team A. 
                D. Legal in (a), (b), and (d).  
 
6.3.7: During a jump ball, jumper A1 touches the ball simultaneously with both hands, and then touches 
the ball with the right hand followed by the left hand. Is this a violation? 
                A. Yes 
                B. No 
 
6.4.1 (C): Following the jump between A1 and B1 to start the first quarter, the jump ball is simultaneously 
controlled by A2 and B3, or the ball is simultaneously touched by A2 and B3 then goes out of bounds. 
How do we proceed? 
                A. Re-jump with A1 and B1 
                B. Re-jump with A2 and B3 
 
LOSS OF ARROW 

https://ohsaaweb.blob.core.windows.net/files/Officiating/OHSAAOfficialsHandbook.pdf


6.4.5 (A): Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating procedure. A1 commits a 
violation. What happens to the alternating possession arrow? 
A. Team B will get the throw-in for the violation and Team B will also get the alternating possession arrow. 
B. Team B will get the throw-in for the violation, but Team A will keep the alternating possession arrow. 
 
 
Answers: 1: C; 2: YES; 3: B, 4: A 


