
To: OHSAA Basketball Officials 
 
From: Denny Morris, Director of Officiating Development – Basketball 
 
Re: Plays of the Week – Week 8 
 
Date: Monday, December 19, 2022 
 
 
This week’s video consists of a 3-play vignette.  
 
Clip 1 – Link: Clip 1.MP4 
Drive from C side.  C is responsible for drive all the way to basket.  Correct ruling here would be a player 
control foul.  Defender has established legal guarding position and absorbs contact in the torso.  This is 
not a flop.  L has secondary responsibility for this action and appears to have a good look at the 
action.  Absent a foul call on this play, the dribbler also travels. 
 
Clip 2 – Link: Clip 2.MOV 
Drive from C correctly ruled player control.  L again is in excellent position to help if needed but properly 
yields to C avoiding a double whistle. Well handled by this crew. 
 
Clip 3 – Link: Clip 3.mp4 
Please review during your pregame and decide how you will avoid this unfortunate “blarge” with double 
whistles.  Correct ruling would be player control foul.  In the case shown, this would be a double foul and 
resume from point of interruption. 
 
 
ERROR – NOT CORRECTABLE  
5.8.4 (B): The head coach from Team A requests a 60-second time-out to rectify a timing error. The 
referee grants the time-out to investigate the matter but determines that no correction can be made. The 
scorer then informs the referee that Team A cannot be charged a 60-second time-out as they only have 
one 30-second time-out remaining. 
  
A. Since Team A did not have a 60-second time-out remaining and the investigation/discussion took 
longer than the 60-seconds, they will be charged with a team technical foul. 
B. Since they have no 60-second time-outs remaining and there was no timing correction made, Team A 
will be charged their remaining 30-second time-out regardless of the amount of time consumed. 
C. The referee should not have granted the request since Team A did not have a 60-second time out. 
  
  
TIMING MISTAKES and CORRECTIONS  
5.10.1 (B): Team A leads by one point when they inbound the ball in their backcourt with 12 seconds 
remaining in the fourth quarter. A1’s throw-in pass is to A2 who dribbles in the backcourt until the horn 
sounds. The trail official does not make a 10-second ruling because he/she “lost the count.” 
  
A. The game is over. The clock may not be reset as there are no rule provisions to do this. 
B. The game clock should be set to two seconds and the ball awarded to Team B as the 10-second 
violation should have been called. 
  
5.10.1 (E): Team A scores a goal to lead by four points with 10 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. 
Team B then quickly scores with approximately five seconds remaining; now trailing by two points. Team 
A expects to withhold the ball out of bounds for the throw-in with the time remaining.  The timer 
mistakenly stops the clock shortly following the Team B goal; the game clock reads 4.0 seconds 
remaining. The official sounds the whistle immediately to address the timing mistake. 
  

https://ohsaa-my.sharepoint.com/:v:/g/personal/tbrooks_ohsaa_org/EU5vEH-30G9AqWEBnTL5gw0Bt5Hck0FYFYEWGypzMveieQ?e=NgfIoR
https://ohsaa-my.sharepoint.com/:v:/g/personal/tbrooks_ohsaa_org/EYMVUwtFnX1NpA0V7oFVOo0B89zq163UO_2Pwt0I9LltQQ?e=uY4IlT
https://ohsaa-my.sharepoint.com/:v:/g/personal/tbrooks_ohsaa_org/EcLOiARvwLREi5KyOqz-ch0B0Qf-owmIOZXd32V8RbBW_Q?e=8JU531


A. Team A will have a throw-in from a designated spot on the end-line with no change to the game clock. 
B. The game is over as there was 4.0 seconds remaining and Team A should have been able to run the 
clock down. 
C. Team A will have a throw-in from anywhere along the end-line with no change to the game clock. 
  
  
BASKET INTERFERENCE 
9.11.1 (E): The ball is touching the side of the basket ring of Team A. B1 jumps and B1's hand contacts 
the net. The ball definitely is not touching the top of the basket ring. 
  
A. Basket interference; score 2 points for Team A 
B. Violation. Team B's ball with a spot throw-in out of bounds along the baseline. 
C. No violation. Ball remains live.  
 
 
UNIFORMS 
3.4.3(B): A7 reports to the official scorer to enter the game wearing a jersey with the No. 7, which is the 
number listed in the scorebook. A7 (a) enters the game and participates; (b) changes into a legal jersey 
and enters the game later. 
 
A. Direct technical is charged to the coach in both A and B. Team A coach loses the coaching box 
privileges for the remainder of the game. Team B is awarded two free-throws and a throw-in at the 
division line.  
B. Direct technical is charged to the coach in situation A for an illegal uniform. Coach loses the coaching 
box privileges. In B, a team technical is charged to the coach because the number must be changed in 
the book and does not lose the coaching box because it is a team technical. Both instances warrant two 
technical foul free-throws and a throw-in at the division line. 
C. Neither situation warrants a technical foul for an illegal jersey number.  
  
Best of luck as the season continues!  
 
 
Answers: Q1-B; Q2-A; Q3-C; Q4-C; Q5-B (note: A7 wearing No. 7 should not participate until he/she 
is wearing a legal uniform.  Proper numbers are outlined on pg. 25 (rule 3.4.3 of the Rules Book). 
 


